Dr. B. Thyagarajan Endowed Scholarship

Dr. Thyagarajan established this scholarship shortly after his retirement in 2000 after 26 years of exemplary service, teaching, and scholarship. Professor Dr. Thyagarajan was the founding director of the Division of Earth and Physical Sciences.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Incoming Freshmen or Current Undergraduates, enrolled full-time (12+ credit hours/semester)
  • Incoming Freshmen: 860+ SAT or 18+ ACT, and Top 50% Rank in graduating class
  • Current Undergraduates: cumulative 2.6+ GPA (4.0 scale) and completed 1-60 semester credit hours
  • Major: Chemistry, Geology, Physics
  • Must demonstrate financial need, as determined by the FAFSA on file with the UTSA Office of Student Financial Aid

Additional Requirements:

  • Applicants: it is suggested that you submit 1-2 Letters of Recommendation
  • Recipients: submit a 2 page essay on the life of United Farm Workers leader Cesar Chavez or India’s freedom movement leader Mahatma Ghandi

College of Sciences