Rhodes Scholarship - International Students

The Rhodes Scholarship is the oldest fellowship award in the world and selects students worldwide from a variety of citizenships to study at the University of Oxford on a two-year program. Rhodes Scholars must display outstanding academic achievements, honorable character, commitment to others and the common good, and the potential for future leaderships.

Desirable applicant characteristics: Applicants will have significant experience in leadership, research, professionalization, creative achievements, and/or athletic participation. Please visit the Rhodes Scholarship website to see the biographies of past awardees.

Award: Full financial support for scholars to pursue one or two degrees at the University of Oxford in the United Kingdom

Eligibility Requirements:

  • * Citizens of countries listed below may apply in the international division by country or in the open global competition. Deadlines vary by country but are generally in July-September of a student’s senior year.
  • Must be at least 18 years of age. Upon entry to Oxford, the candidate must either be under 25 years of age, or up to a maximum age of 28 years old if they have completed their first undergraduate degree within the last 2 years."

Institutional endorsement required: Yes

UTSA Deadline: Students should submit a full application to the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards at least one month prior to the country deadline.

Interested applicants should contact Andrew Chapman of the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards by filling out the following intake form

Below is a list of Rhodes constituencies. Please note, if you are not eligible to apply for Rhodes Scholarships for any of the below constituencies please visit “Which Scholarship Should I Apply to?” in order to see the Global Scholarships and inter-jurisdictional options.

AUSTRALIA (9 Scholarships)
BERMUDA (1 Scholarship)
CANADA (11 Scholarships)
CHINA (4 Scholarships)
EAST AFRICA (1 Scholarship): Covering Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, South Sudan and Burundi
GERMANY (2 Scholarships)
HONG KONG SAR (2 Scholarships)
INDIA (5 Scholarships)
ISRAEL (2 Scholarships)
JAMAICA & THE COMMONWEALTH CARIBBEAN (2 Scholarships): Covering Antigua, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, St. Lucia, St. Vincent, St. Kitts-Nevis, Montserrat, Anguilla, the Turks and Caicos Islands, Cayman Islands and British Virgin Islands
KENYA (2 Scholarships)
MALAYSIA (1 Scholarship)
NEW ZEALAND (3 Scholarships)
PAKISTAN (1 Scholarship)
SAUDI ARABIA (Up to 2 Scholarships)
SINGAPORE (1 Scholarship)
SOUTHERN AFRICA (10 Scholarships): Covering South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Namibia and eSwatini
UNITED STATES (32 Scholarships)
WEST AFRICA (2 Scholarship): Covering Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, the island of Saint Helena, Senegal, Sierra Leone, São Tomé and Principe, and Togo.
ZAMBIA (2 Scholarships)
ZIMBABWE (2 Scholarships)

Fully funded tuition at University of Oxford
Honors College